Letter to the Newspaper

In 2017, one year into my transition, I decided that my voice needed to be heard in my home town. One night I sat down on my phone, pulled up the newspapers website, and began to write. The issues in Georgia were weighing on me greatly, especially after losing a job that I had for thirteen years. It was also at that time that I felt the need to do more on Youtube, even though my voice transition has struggled. My actual voice is one of the reasons that I have decided to use written word to express my opinions. By doing this I am getting better at interacting with others on political and religious platforms. Our voices as LGBt and Transgender individuals need to be heard. Below is the letter I wrote to the local newspaper.

LGBTQ SUPPORT

There is an issue here in Macon that seems to be ignored by everyone who lives here. And that is the LGBTQ community. There are plenty of cities that showed their support by having marches, and even Atlanta is going to paint crosswalks to show pride. But I heard of nothing in Macon. Everyone knows there are gay people or lesbians and even transgender people living here. I am transgender and to my knowledge because of the lack of resources in Macon, I feel like I am the only one here. I believe I’m wrong or at least I hope I am.

During my transition I have had very little contact with others and have been, and to some extent, still scared of the people here because I don’t know how they feel. We should have support groups here and and events held where the LGBTQ community can go and feel safe and have others show support and support each other. Businesses are sketchy as well. How do we know that we won’t be discriminated against once we come out? What are we supposed to do when we (transgender people) need to use the restroom? Do you want a woman going in the men’s room or vice versa?

Adeline Hursey,

Macon

As I said before, change needs to happen, and it is happening. We are heading into a new era with Biden and Harris leading the way. Change is coming, and it is going to be amazing. Finally there will be a country where all people are created equal.

-Adeline

Leave a comment

Come (Out) as You Are

Safe. Heard. Loved.

carly books

I read lots of books, from mythology retellings to literary fiction and I love to reread books from childhood, this is a place to voice my thoughts for fun. I also like to ramble about things such as art or nature every now and again.

BeautyBeyondBones

Because we’re all recovering from something.

New Lune

A blog full of tips, inspiration and freebies!

My son, Elissa...

My little boy, becoming a 17 year old girl...

Unpretty Thoughts Journal

Fix your hearts or die

Down the Forest Path

A Journey Through Nature, its Magic and Mystery

Stonehenge Stone Circle News and Information

Stonehenge Visitors Guide www.Stonehenge.News

Nengkoy

ruminations & travesties of the favorite yet naughty son of Nengkoy

The Words Kraft

Writing-Blogging-Editing-Journalism

thoughts and entanglements

A collective of poems and photos. All photos taken by me unless stated otherwise.

Mytika Speak

Where Logic and Feeling Unite

my apocrypha

compositions

Bombay Ficus

Running, Writing, Real Life Experiences & Relatable Content.

annamosca

Poetic Landscapes Of The Spirit

ViraL Luck

Entertainment Site

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started